Kammer Klang 2018



David Heilbich, No Music – A performative rehearsal

Matt Rogers Weep At The Elastic As It Stretches (World Premiere)

Scenatet Ensemble
Vicky Wright, clarinet
Gijs Kramers, viola
My Hellgren, cello

13 December 2017
Cafe Oto, 18-22 Ashwin Street, London E8 3DL
£7 advance / £6 member / £9 door / £5 students
Buy tickets here
Season tickets available here


David Helbich studied composition and philosophy in Amsterdam and in Freiburg. He has lived and worked in Brussels since 2002. He creates various experimental works on stage, on page, online and in public space. His trajectory moves between representative and interactive works, pieces and interventions, between conceptual work and actions. A recurring interest is in the understanding of an audience as active individuals and the search for an opening up of experiences in an artistically restricted space. Tonight he will perform No Music – A performative rehearsal.

No Music is no music, but still a musical experience. No music, still for your ears.

Since 2010 I have worked on scores for pieces that could be performed right at the spot, in whatever context, as long as one could freely use both hands and had two functioning ears. The pieces offer notated situations of organised listening and simple ear manipulations.

I understand the this material more as a practice than as a series of composition, even though they can appear as such. Pieces appear in printed form as well as in spontaneous performances or entirely set theatrical or concert performances.

These interventions are entirely personal and therefore not so much interactive as ‘inner-active’, self-performative. The reader as the performer as the listener.” – DH

The British composer Matt Rogers has written for and with a host of leading instrumentalists, ensembles and technologists, creating music and installations for concert halls, theatres, galleries and public spaces. He has received the Paul Hamlyn Foundation Award for Composers and has been Artist in Residence at the Southbank Centre and Tokyo Wonder Site. He was also the first composer to be commissioned by London’s Art on the Underground. Previous commissions include The Virtues of Things for Royal Opera, Aldeburgh Music and Opera North. Rogers is currently collaborating on new work with the American chamber orchestra Alarm Will Sound.


Scenatet was founded by artistic director Anna Berit Asp Christensen in 2008 and moves in a cross-genre field of music, drama and happenings towards areas with yet undefined genre. The ensemble aims to create conceptual art works where music is part of a larger whole. They work with many types of productions, in close collaboration with composers, directors, artists, filmmakers, festivals and art spaces. Scenatet consists of 12 permanent musicians and works with the younger generation of Danish and international composers, including Peter Ablinger, George Aperghis, Kaj Aune, Joanna Bailie, Jeppe Just Christensen, Christian Winther Christensen, Juliana Hodkinson, Jacob Kirkegaard, Simon Løffler, Jessie Marino, Sarah Nemtsov, Marianthi Papalexandri-Alexandri, Niels Rønsholdt, Francois Sarhan, Salvatore Sciarrino, Simon Steen-Andersen, Bent Sørensen, Manos Tsangaris and Jennifer Walshe. Scenatet has performed at festivals such as SPOR, Wundergrund, Klang and Pulsar in Denmark, Ultima, Bergen Festspillene and Borealis in Norway; Transit Festival in Belgium; November Musik in the Netherlands, MaerzMusik and Heroines of Sound in Germany, Nuit Blanche in France, Shanghai New Music Week in China and and the UK’s Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival.

Scenatet is supported by the Danish Arts Council, the Danish Arts Foundation, Conductors Association, KODA, Sonning-Fonden and Wilhelm Hansen Fonden.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.