Ayan-ool Sam

Ayan-ool Sam, the legendary Tuvan throat singer and founding member of Alash Ensemble appears solo to explore his particular interest in the intersections between traditional throat singing and contemporary techniques and sounds.
12 Ensemble performs Alex Hills (world premiere), Ruth Crawford Seeger
12 Ensemble, the UK’s foremost un-conducted string ensemble, performs a new commission by the cult composer Alex Hills, who has studied with Michael Finnissy and Brian Ferneyhough, and whose works have included a mash-up of “California Über Alles” by the Dead Kennedys and Nico’s version of the German national anthem.

OutsideIn is a concerto for the unique violinist Aisha Orazbayeva, whose virtuosity, imagination and creative freedom has been a huge influence on the piece. Instead of thinking about the ensembleaccompanying the soloist, I explore a spatial relationship between them – the soloist can belong outside the sound of the ensemble, or be contained within it. The musical lines also move in this way – continually drawn in towards a centre of gravity, then at the end of the piece escaping away from it outwards.” – Alex Hills

Copyright © 2016 Kammer Klang, All rights reserved.
You are receiving this email because we thought it may be of interest. Feel free to subscribe of course, if not.

Our mailing address is:

Kammer Klang

9 Fairfield Rd

London, N/A E9 2QA

United Kingdom

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.